Opening and closing dates for Ma’arat HaMachpela 2022

image_printPrint

FULL SCHEDULE: Hall of Isaac & Rebecca to be open for Jewish holidays.

For ten days a year, the Tomb of the Patriarchs and Matriarchs is reserved for Jewish prayer services and the Hall of Isaac & Rebecca is open to the public. For another ten days, the tomb is reserved for Muslim prayer services.

Dates are subject to change:

** Reserved for Jewish services **

Monday, April 18, 2022 – Passover chol hamoed
Tuesday, April 19, 2022 – Passover chol hamoed
Thursday, August 25, 2022 – pre-Rosh Hodesh Elul
Monday, September 26, 2022 – Rosh Hashana
Sunday, October 2, 2022 – Ten Days of Repentance selichot
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 – Yom Kippur Opening starts Tuesday at 3:00 pm
Wednesday, October 12, 2022 – Succot chol hamoed
Thursday, October 13, 2022 – Succot chol hamoed
Monday, October 17, 2022 – Simchat Torah (Isaac Hall open for a few hours for Second Hakafot)
Saturday, November 19, 2022 – Shabbat Chayei Sarah – Opening starting Friday at 3:00 pm

** Reserved for Muslim services **

Monday, February 28, 2022 – Lailat al Miraj
Friday, April 8, 2022 – Ramadan
Friday, April 15, 2022 – Ramadan
Friday, April 22, 2022 – Ramadan
Tuesday, April 26, 2022 – Ramadan (Tomb will open the next day, Wednesday, April 27 at 10:00 am)
Friday, April 29, 2022 – Laylat al Qadr
Monday, May 2, 2022 – Eid-al-Fitr
Sunday, July 10, 2022 – Eid-al-Adha
Saturday, July 30, 2022 – Hijra – Islamic New Year
Saturday, October 8, 2022 – Milad un Nabi

Attention: Due to the nature of the Muslim calendar and due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, there may be changes in the schedule. It is recommended to double-check before planning your visit. Please call 050-647-7776 or 050-647-7744 for any questions.

Certain sections in the Muslim area are off-limits even during Jewish holidays.

During normal days, the complex is divided into Jewish and Muslim areas with separate entrances. The Hall of Isaac and Rebecca is normally reserved for Muslim prayers. This hall contains the small opening into the underground caves, known as the “entrance to the Garden of Eden.”

The Cave of Machpela is open:
Winter Time – 4:00am – 9:00pm
Summer Time – 4:00am – 9:45pm

The outside courtyard and Seventh Step garden area are always open. It is in this outdoor area where Jewish prayer services are held during Muslim holidays.

 

source

Newsletter Sign Up

Be the first
to receive pictures, updates and links about Hebron

  • A weekly email with news, articles and pictures
  • Exclusive access to webinars with Hebron personalities
  • Shareable articles and videos you can use to educate friends

… and get these FREE gifts

  • A free e-book about historical and present day Hebron, exclusively for readers like you.
  • A beautiful 16-month calendar featuring art by local Hebron artists.
  • A limited-edition table tent with  blessing for Shabbat candles, and Yehi Ratzon prayer
16 page Calendar
16 page Calendar
  • A free e-book about historical and present day Hebron, exclusively for readers like you.
  • A beautiful 16-month calendar featuring art by local Hebron artists.
  • A limited-edition table tent with  blessing for Shabbat candles, and Yehi Ratzon prayer

*Your email is safe with us. We do not spam and we will not sell your email to other organizations. 

Skip to content